Is whey protein vegetarian friendly

Is Whey Protein Vegetarian?: If you’re looking to find out whether Whey Protein powder is suitable for Vegans or Vegetarians then the fast answer is No for Vegans and Yes for Vegetarians. If you would like to know a bit more then read on.

Is whey protein vegetarian friendly

In today’s article, we’re going to take a brief look at Whey Protein and whether it is Vegan and Vegetarian friendly.

Whey Protein isn’t Vegan Friendly, because it’s made from Milk. However, pure Whey Protein is usually suitable for Vegetarians, but you should always check the label to make sure.

Whey Protein is not Vegan Friendly because it’s made from Cow’s Milk, therefore contains a product produced from an animal.

However, Pure Whey Protein is usually 100% Vegetarian, as it only comes from Cow’s Milk. That being said, not all Protein supplements are suitable for Vegetarians, and there are a few things to bear in mind. I’ll explain a bit more about that below.

Now let’s start taking a closer look at Whey Protein and whether it is suitable for Vegans or Vegetarians or not.

You may not know but know Protein contributes to the growth and maintenance of muscle mass. Therefore, making sure that you have enough protein in your diet is especially important if you’re trying to build muscle.

Protein is seen as the ‘building blocks of muscle, and it is needed by the body for creating new muscle, this process is called protein synthesis.

Whey protein and other supplements such as BCAAs are probably the most popular form of sports supplement for gym-goers and for people looking to build and maintain muscle mass.

Supplements are exactly that “supplements” there not “instead of’s” so for people that think they don’t need them then they may wish to think again as people that train with high intensity need so much more than others. Many people say “I eat well so I don’t need supplements” Fair play they have their diet sorted but do they consider for one moment how long it takes to digest and absorb their chicken dinner? the answer is several hours while a good whey protein would be in their system in less than 3o minutes (depending on the type of whey protein). *Hydrolysed is the fastest while whey protein blends consist of proteins that release in stages.

Whey proteins are proteins isolated from Whey, which is the liquid part of Cow’s Milk that separates during cheese production. After this separation whey is further processed, first off comes Whey Concentrate which is filled by Isolate and Hydrolysed Whey. The reason why you pay extra for your higher quality whey is if they contain Isolate or Hydrolysed whey the processing procedure is much more time-intensive. Once processed and graded it is now turned into a powder form which is how we know it. 

As with everything in life, quality doesn’t come cheap so if your whey protein is cheap that’s for a good reason. This cheap product will contain a high amount of milk protein and it’s likely to contain other cheaper proteins in high quantity such as soya, rice, pea, even wheat-based proteins which can cause stomach bloating.

This powder is then turned into things such as Protein Shakes, Meal Replacement drinks, and other products such as Protein Bars and even Icecream.

Whether you’re looking for muscle growth, muscle maintenance or a fast protein fix after a heavy gym session choose your whey protein to suit your needs. Whey protein comes in many forms to do different jobs so please read our blog as there is so much ground to cover so we can’t keep going back over it. Basically, if your training for fun then don’t overspend but having said that don’t go too cheap either as your protein will almost certainly be full of cheap ingredients as these products are all built to a price.

The bottom line is that Whey Protein is a type of supplement that is made from Cow’s Milk so it’s fine for vegetarians but it’s a big a no, no for Vegans.

So Is Whey Protein Vegan Friendly?

So, is Whey Protein Vegan Friendly? If you were paying attention you should realise the short answer is no.

As you will be aware, Vegan diets do not contain animal products of any source, and that includes things such as Cow’s Milk.

As we have already mentioned above, Whey Protein is made from Cow’s Milk that separates during cheese production. Because Whey is derived from Cow’s Milk, Whey Protein is totally unsuitable for Vegans.

There are a lot of other alternative protein supplements which are suitable for Vegans. They include protein powders that are made from plant-based sources such as soy, hemp, pea, rice, and peanut. Vegan protein powders are more expensive than hey protein powders, and they also usually contain much less protein per serving.

Some people choose to use Vegan Protein powders because they may be easier to digest for some. For example, they may be lactose intolerant or have IBS or other gut problems, that being said I would advise you to avoid proteins that contain wheat or wheat by-products.

So Is Whey Protein Vegetarian Friendly?

You may be wondering whether Whey Protein is Vegetarian Friendly or not. The short answer is yes.

That being said, there are a couple of things to look out for if you are a vegetarian when it comes to protein supplements.

Many Whey Protein supplements have a lot of other ingredients added to them, they contain things such as Vitamins and Minerals and are also likely to be Vegetarian friendly.

Having said that some manufacturers may also add ingredients that are not suitable for Vegetarians. So, the only way to be 100% sure if your protein supplement is suitable for Vegetarians or not is to carefully check the ingredients label which I suggest you do with whatever supplement you are buying.

Not all Whey Protein Powder supplements are advertised as being Vegetarian Friendly as they may be other additives so if you wish to be sure then buy a product with Vegetarian Friendly clearly marked on the label.

To wrap things up we at Medi-Evil Nutrition make a Whey Protein Matrix called Whey Fury. It consists of several proteins so you get your fast-acting proteins inside you then it continues feeding your body with protein over a period of time rather than just delivering Whey Protein in one big hit.

Check out our latest offer. Whey Fury with a free trial pack of award-winning Excalibur fat burners free (worth £17.99)

Is whey protein vegetarian friendly-whey fury